North Carolina Sheriffs' Association

Thanks to our
Corporate Partners

Support Your Sheriff -- Join Today!


This Commission is composed of 17 members. Twelve sheriffs are appointed by the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association. Two sheriffs are chosen at-large in such manner as is dictated by the Association’s Constitution and By-laws. The remaining 10 sheriffs represent each of the Commission’s 10 districts. The members serve staggered terms.


Julia Lohman, Director
Sheriffs' Standards Division
9001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-9001
(919) 779-8213    Fax #(919) 716-6753


       Sheriff Brad Riley, Chairman Sheriff Chris Batten, Vice-Chairman      

Commission District #1: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Gates, Hertford, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington
Represented by:
Sheriff Juan Vaughn

Hertford County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 176
Winton, NC 27986
(252) 358-7800
Fax# (252) 358-7870
Commission District #6: Alamance, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes
Represented by:
Sheriff BJ Barnes
Guilford County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27402
(336) 641-3690
Fax# (336) 641-6729
Commission District #2: Caswell, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Nash, Northampton, Person, Vance, and Warren
Represented by:
Sheriff James Knight
Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 219
Tarboro, NC 27886
(252) 641-7914
Fax# (252) 824-3603
Commission District #7: Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Cumberland, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson
Represented by:
Sheriff Christopher Batten
Columbus County Sheriff's Office
Post Office Box 280
Whiteville ,NC 28472
(910) 640-6655
Commission District #3:Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Pamlico, and Pitt
Represented by:
Sheriff Jerry Monette
Craven County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 1027
New Bern, NC 28563-1027
(252) 636-6620
Fax# (252) 636-3686
Commission District #8: Anson, Cabarrus, Hoke, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union
Represented by:
Sheriff Brad Riley
Cabarrus County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 525
Concord, NC 28025
(704) 920-3000
Fax# (704) 784-1919                            CHAIRMAN
Commission District #4: Chatham, Durham, Greene, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Orange, Wake, Wayne, and Wilson
Represented by:
Sheriff Lindy Pendergrass
Orange County Sheriff’s Office
144 East Margaret Lane
Hillsborough, NC 27278
(919) 644-3050
Fax# (919) 732-6403
Commission District #9: Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Cleveland, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey
Represented by:
Sheriff Alan Jones
Caldwell County Sheriff’s Office
2351 Morganton Blvd
Lenoir, NC 28645

Commission District #5: Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Catawba, Gaston, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin
Represented by:
Sheriff David Edwards
Alleghany County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 53
Sparta, NC 28675
(336) 372-4455
Fax# (336) 372-8639
Commission District #10: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania.
Represented by:
Sheriff David Mahoney
Transylvania County Sheriff’s Office
153 Public Safety Way
Brevard, NC 28712
(828) 884-3258
Fax# (828) 884-6890
Eastern At-Large - NC Sheriffs' Association
Eric Tilley
Perquimans County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 31
Hertford, NC 27944
(252) 340-1869
Fax# (252) 426-4019  
Western At-Large - NC Sheriffs' Association
Sheriff Alan Cloninger

Gaston County Sheriff’s Office
Post Office Box 1578
Gastonia, NC 28053-1578
(704) 869-6880
Fax# (704) 869-6815
Speaker of the House Appointment
Steve O. Hunt, Executive Director
Director of Public Safety and Training
Catawba Valley Community College
2550 Highway 70 SE
Hickory, NC 28602
(828) 327-7000 ext 4570
Fax# (828) 327-7276
Governor Appointment                                [From Recommendations of the NC Assn. of County Commissioners]
Mr. Jonathan Barfield

4720 Archer Drive
Wilmington, NC  28409
Senate President Pro-Tem Appointment
Mr. William Marcus Nichols
105 Lynfield Lane
Garner, NC  27529-9572
(919) 662-8148

UNC-CH School of Government Dean
Michael R. Smith [Ex-Officio and Nonvoting] Represented By:                                           Jamie Markham, Assistant Professor of Public Law and Government                                         CB# 3330 Knapp - Sanders Building
UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3330
(919) 843-3914
Fax# (919) 962-2370
Community College System President
R. Scott Ralls [Ex-Officio and Nonvoting] Represented By:                                                Barbara Boyce, Director
Occupational Continuing Education
North Carolina Community College System
5020 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-5020
(919) 807-7185
Fax# (919) 733-0680