North Carolina Sheriffs' Association

Thanks to our
Corporate Partners

Support Your Sheriff -- Join Today!

2014 NCSA Spring Scholarship Awards

The North Carolina Sheriffs' Association announces the awarding of Spring Criminal Justice Scholarships to the following students across North Carolina. Scholarships of $1,000 each were awarded for the 2013 Spring semester to:
Name College
Bryan Watts East Carolina University
Jasmine Herring Harris Elizabeth City State University
Cameron Perry Elizabeth City State University
Redeidre Edwards North Carolina Central University
Suzanna Stirewalt North Carolina State University
Hannah Luke UNC - Charlotte
Kaitlin Robertson UNC - Pembroke
Taneka Dozier UNC - Wilmington
Jordan Piercy Western Carolina University

The Sheriffs of North Carolina feel that the scholarship program sponsored by their Association will assist many prospective personnel for Sheriff's Offices as well as other law enforcement agencies across the State.

The Sheriffs of North Carolina are extremely pleased to be able to make these awards available to students. The monies for these scholarships are made possible through membership dues paid by the Honorary Citizen and Business Members of the North Carolina Sheriffs' Association.

Eligibility: Twelve scholarships are offered each semester to full-time North Carolina resident undergraduate students majoring in criminal justice, one for each UNC constituent institution that has a criminal justice program.

First priority in selection is given to the son or daughter of (1) a sheriff or deputy sheriff or (2) any law enforcement officer killed in the line of duty.

Second priority is given to a son or daughter of any sheriff or deputy sheriff who is deceased, retired (regular or disability) or is currently active in North Carolina law enforcement. Third priority is given to any criminal justice student meeting the institution's academic and financial need criteria.

The state institutions eligible to participate in the criminal justice program are: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina State University, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, Western Carolina University and Winston-Salem State University.

Value: These scholarships are valued at $1,000 each semester. A total of 24 scholarships are available per year.

Application Procedure: Recipients of the scholarship are chosen by the financial aid office at the constituent institution of the University of North Carolina that the student plans to attend or is currently attending. The student must obtain a letter of recommendation from the Sheriff of the county in North Carolina where he or she resides. Applications are available from the school’s financial aid office, and after completion, should be returned to the school’s financial aid office.